I am here, just to share…

Why do we dream ???

“Dreams are the touchstones of our characters.” – Henry David Thoreau

We all have have dreams, isn’t it? Dreams actually affect your life in a lot of ways. Just view it practically, when you see a bad dream like someone’s death or maybe an accident, a phobia inside you is born for that certain event. While when you see a good and pleasant dream, your whole day feels blissful and jubilant.

To start with, what is a dream?  a dream is a sub-conscious psychic vision of the ‘Ideal’ colored by personal affections and framed by the human yearning to reach what one wants. In simple language, thoughts, images and sensations occurring in the mind of a person when he’s sleeping.

I have gone across several people and whenever I meet a person, my first question to him/her is always what is the dream of his life. Dreams actually help you to determine the personality, priorities and goals of the person. Dreams should never be underestimated. They help you self- introspect yourself. They help you to set goals and aims and always remember that, if you can dream it, you can do it..!! Dreams also help a lot to de-stress (obviously, only if it’s a good dream).

As I lay my head down to rest, looking forward to a long and undisturbed slumber, I briefly escape this world and its worries, I free myself and let my mind settle. I shut my eyes and am transformed into another person, put into another time and place, given a new dawn and a new day to write my own story. I believe that sometimes we can control and create our dreams and there would be many to contradict. So, another question rose in my mind – why do we dream?

This was rather a thought provoking question. (It feels very irritating when you do a task everyday and you don’t know the reason why you do so. You feel like a fool performing that task.) I asked my best friend – Google this question. It said that there were still no standard scientific theories suggested but there were reasons like wish fulfillment, storing memories and threat stimulation (i.e. to prepare for avoidance of a certain threat and response given by us during the threat). I was rather surprised to know that there is a branch of science dedicated to study of dreams – Oneirology. Some researchers suggest that dreams serve no real purpose, while others believe that dreaming is essential to mental, emotional and physical well-being.

Well, I am not a great dreamer myself. I hardly get any dreams in my sleep. But I love to hear others and if you have any such weird dream or an incident related to a dream, please give me this obligation to share those with me… So, LIVE WELL AND DREAM WELL..!!

Comments on: "Why do we dream ???" (1)

  1. Wow Upasna! Beautifully written! Yeah its good to live in a world mixed with reality and fantasy for sure! Nice work! 👌😁

    Like

Let's Chit Chat..Talking eases stress

